It’s nothing a pretty dress and lipstick can’t fix…

4 Aug

Warning: This post involves a bit of self-pity. If you choose to continue reading, know the purpose of sharing this sobfest story is to share my  brilliant solution to a bad day.

Yesterday was a bad day. I was soooo tired by the end of it. I was so exhausted by the badness (I know that’s not a word!) that I found it difficult to do the simplest of things. I stroked my hair with a brush a few times and then gave up.  I looked in the mirror at my ratted hair and my haggard face. I didn’t even think about the effort it would take to wash my face and brush my teeth. I finally resorted to my bed and flopped lifelessly into it.  I was still fully-dressed.

You’re exhausted now just reading this, right?

This morning I decided I had to do something; anything to ensure that the curse of the bad day didn’t follow me into today.

So, what did I do you ask?

I put on a pretty dress and my favorite lipstick

The effect seemed immediate. I don’t look tired today. I don’t look disheveled. I don’t feel like I’m going to have a melt-down and lie on the floor and kick and scream and cry. I feel better. Interestingly enough, a coworker shared with me this morning that she ALSO was having a bad day yesterday, and what did she wear today? A gorgeous, flowy skirt of course.

Ya see?

And because I love you, here are some tips to wearing lipstick from the adored celebrity makeup artist, Robert Jones.

Leave a Reply

